Artist statement

I am a multimedia, process led artist based in Farnham, Surrey. My work focuses on the relationship between man and nature in the technological western world, which I explore through photography, installation, performance, print, film, assemblage and painting. My practice is informed by artists such as; Martin Creed, Olafur Eliasson, David Shrigley, Ai Weiwei, Godfrey Reggio, Gustav Metsger and John Cage.

Drawing on influences from Roland Barthes’ ‘Mythologies’ alongside Aldous Huxley’s ‘Doors of Perception’ my practice thinks about the subliminal human experience within the complex mundane of the contemporary world.

I am interested in how we deal with the existential in the post Internet now where a multitude of ever expanding distractions help us to forget about our own mortality. This interest in Internet culture provokes attempts at humour and parody in my practice in a way that aims to understand man’s relationship with the absurdity of Western reality.

This contrast between the constructed virtual world and our own internal realities often forces me to leave stains and accidents in my works in order to expose the flaws of this chance based reality. Maths forms a basis for many of my works, as often the aesthetics of process led and repetitive work is left to chance.

My work aims to interactively relate to audiences who feel just as confused with the absurdity and constant contradictions of the modern world as I do. Through my practice I aim to provoke questions about the way we live in a post Internet society, analysing our subversive relationship with the real and unreal in an ‘atemporal’ world where all times now exist at once.

Leave a Reply

